10 November 2017

Slipknot: Day of the Gusano – Live In Mexico (DVD)

I grew up during the glory days of Slipknot – back in the early noughties everyone listened to them. I have vivid memories of strangers shouting ‘Slipknot!’ at me in the street before I even knew what that meant (it was a confusing time). They were probably my gateway to the more extreme end of the metal genre. So they hold a great deal of nostalgia for me.

Last month they released a live DVD of their first ever gig in Mexico City which took place in December 2015. Talking about ‘Day of the Gusano’, M. Shawn Crahan, aka Clown (who directed the DVD) has said;

“Slipknot still has dreams for itself. Finally playing Mexico was one of them. It’s been a surreal life of rock and roll for Slipknot and the fact that the dreams still go on for us is simply incredible. Thank you.”

Guitarist Jim Root continues;

“We had such a great time at Knotfest Mexico… Not only with all the friends and bands that were there, but with the fans and the crowd we had to document it with. Now we get to share it with the world.”

I think the thing that struck me most about the footage is the crowd. Central and South America are renowned for their skill at bringing together a large crowd of headbangers. It is safe to say that I’ve never attended a gig as large as this one. It is a dizzying sight to behold; a dense carpet of human beings all swaying and swirling to the harsh aggressive beats. The tiny maggots stretch out as far as the eye can see.

The stage in Mexico, like the crowd, is vast. Slipknot always put on a mad show. I saw them in Newcastle back in 2008 and was close enough to the stage to find the experience genuinely distressing – the band menacing me in their masks. They always incorporate a lot of movement into the show – drums spin and rotate in time to the music, the stage turned into playground for the demented masked carnival creatures.

Corey Taylor is a great frontman, barking out the lyrics to classics like ‘Before I Forget’, ‘Duality’ and ‘People = Shit’ with a great deal of emotion, speaking to the crowd in Spanish and getting them singing along. Highlight of the set, though, is the huge explosive finale.

This spectacle is worth a watch for anyone who’s ever been a fan of Slipknot. The band hasn’t had the easiest of times. It’s great to see that, despite tragedy, they’re still delivering their show with passion.

Rating 4 out of 5

‘Day of the Gusano’s live tracklisting runs as follows:

  • Sarcastrophe
  • The Heretic Anthem
  • Psychosocial
  • The Devil In I
  • Me Inside
  • Vermilion
  • Wait And Bleed
  • Prosthetics
  • Before I Forget
  • Eeyore
  • Duality
  • Custer
  • Spit It Out
  • Metabolic / 742617000027
  • Sic
  • People = Shit
  • Surfacing / Til We Die


photocredit: Strati Hovartos